
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

APPROVES PRO HAC VICE FEE

Effective August 1, 1998, a fee of $50 will be required to be paid to the Clerk, U.S. District Court for each

individual applicant in each individual pro hac vice admission. This is an amendment to LR83.2 of the rule for

Visiting Attorneys. The amendment to LR83.2, with the changes underlined is as follows: 

LR83.2 Visiting Attorneys.

Whenever it shall appear that a person, who has not been lawfully licensed and admitted to the practice

of law in the State of West Virginia, has been duly licensed to be admitted to practice before a court of record of

general jurisdiction in any other state or country or in the District of Columbia, and is in good standing as a

member of the bar of such jurisdiction, he or she may appear in a particular action, suit, proceeding or other

matter in this Court upon full compliance with the requirements of Rule 8.0 (Admission Pro Hac Vice) of the

Rules for Admission to Practice adopted by the Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia, and as the same

may hereafter be amended, if like courtesy or privilege is extended to members of the West Virginia State Bar

in such other jurisdiction. The admission process to be followed by the visiting attorney shall be in compliance

with Rule 8.0(b) of the Rules for Admission to Practice adopted by the Supreme Court of Appeals of West

Virginia, as this Rule may hereafter be amended, and the responsibility of the local attorney to be associated

with the applicant shall be as set forth under Rule 8.0© of said Rules for Admission to Practice, as the same

may hereafter be amended; provided however, a fee of Fifty Dollars ($50.00) shall be paid to the Clerk of this

Court for each individual applicant in each individual pro hac vice admission, which fees shall be administered

by the Court pursuant to applicable policies and procedures of the Administrative Office of the United States

Courts as the same may be hereafter amended. The pro hac vice admission fee shall accompany a verified

statement of application for pro hac vice admissions which application form shall be obtained from the Clerk.


